2006 Nancy Van de Vate International Composition Prize for Opera

Vienna Masterworks A BMI Publisher

Vienna Masterworks is pleased to announce that the 2006 Nancy Van de Vate International Composition Prize for Opera has been awarded to

Maria Helena Rosas Fernandes

of Pocos de Caldas, Brazil for her work, Marília de Dirceu , based on the life story of an 18 th-century Brazilian woman. The full-length opera, for which the composer did her own libretto, is in three acts and is scored for thirteen singers, narrator, mixed chorus, chorus of five children, and large orchestra. The prize is $1,000 and publication of the winning work.

Maria Helena Rosas Fernandes , pianist, composer, musicologist, conductor, and educator, graduated in piano from the Brazilian Conservatory of Music of Guanabara State and in composition and conducting from the Superior School of Music Santa Marcelina. Her compositions have been widely performed and have won numerous prizes. During her long and distinguished career, she has also published musicological research about indigenous Brazilian music; organized and conducted youth choirs, been a faculty member at several conservatories; and actively participated in national and international music conferences.

Special Commendations have been awarded to three other composers for their outstanding works:

Ailis Ni Riain of Ireland and the UK for Exit .

Eugenia Manolides of Greece for Epos

Deborah Mason of the United States for The Rape of the Lock.

Twenty-five entries were received from composers of sixteen nationalities, presently living on five continents in nine countries. Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Great Britain, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Japan, Mexico, Moldova, Rumania, Spain, and the USA were represented. The range of styles was very great, and as in previous years, the level of imagination and compositional skill was extremely high. All scores and sound materials submitted to the competition will become part of the permanent collection of the Library of Fondazione Adkins Chiti: Donne in Musica in Rome.

The next Nancy Van de Vate International Composition Prize for Opera will be awarded in 2008. Deadline for submission of materials will be September 1, 2007.

December 19, 2006
Vienna, Austria